Basic Understanding of Noise Covariance Matrix, LORETA and Overlapping Spheres

Hello BST Team,
I am a PhD student who started my research in neuroscience two months ago. I started to learn about M/EEG source localisation and BST has indeed helped me in understanding the forward and inverse modelling concepts with the practice datasets. I have gone through your tutorials until Source Estimation. I have few very basic question, hope you guys don't mind me asking these basic details.

1. I have gone through sLORETA, Pascual Marqui et al, paper and understood how the standardization happens in sLORETA (computes the covariance matrix of sources and divides/standardizes each voxel by the respective diagonal element of covariance matrix). But I am unable to conceptualize the noise covariance matrix because, The noise covariance matrix is numChxnumCh. How can you divide/standardize each voxel where #voxels > #diagonal elements of noise cov matrix.
  2. noise covariance matrix I intended to use is "No Noise Modelling(Identity matrix)". The tutorial says, "using this noise at the sensor level would be assumed as homeskedastic", how are you going standardizing using this noise model in dSPM or in sLORETA.
  3. I assume, when empty recordings of the MEG room are given, the will be source localised, acquiring the source time series, getting the source cov matrix and use this to standardise the current density map just as explained in (1). Am I correct? If not can you explain me how does this empty room noise recordings are used to standardize the current density map.