I get the connectivity (PLV) of only some scouts of the volume atlas

Hi. I'm new to Brainstorm so apologies if I ask something obvious.

I'm trying to compute the brain connectivity source estimation using epilepsy EEG data.

To do this, I've computed the head model using the MRI volume as the source space. Then I used the DKT atlas offered by Brainstorm to compute a volume atlas. I also used the AA3 atlas and did the same, for comparison.

As should be the case, I obtained the correct volume parcellation, as can be seen in the figures (AAL3 135 scouts or so, DKT 98 scouts or so). However, when I computed the connectivity using PLV at the next step, only some of the volume scouts seem to have been used for this computation. DKT resulted in 24 connected scouts and AAL3 in 18.

Could you please help me understand if I'm doing something wrong?

Thank you!

1 Like
  1. If you have only a subset of the scouts in the output files, it is most likely because you selected only some of the them in the process options. In the PLV process options, make sure you select all the scouts (click on the list of scouts and press CTRL+A to select them all).

2. Your screen captures show connectivity matrices [Nscouts x Nsources]. Is this really what you expected to obtain? Have you used the Process2 tab for computing these files?
    To get a [Nscouts x Nscouts] connectivity matrix, use the PLV [NxN] process from Process1.

3. The option "Scout function: after" might be removed in a future release. To save some computation time, you can use the option "before" instead...
    @Raymundo.Cassani Is this correct?

1 Like

--> I thought the "After" option was the correct one and that the "before" option leads to noisy data... (???)

Well, yes, this is what we initially promoted without testing it much.
We're now in the process of evaluating this better, and it doesn't look that this after option brings much improvement compared to the crazy extra computation time.