Pipeline for Source Estimation and statistical analysis of EEG data

Hello Brainstorm community!

I am trying to estimate the source activity of EEG data for two different experimental conditions and then run some statistical analysis.

Since I am new to Brainstorm and the results I am finding are not so straightforward to be interpreted, I would highly appreciate if anybody could provide me some feedback about the pipeline I have adopted! In the following you can find a schematic overview of the procedure that I have implemented so far:

1. I have preprocessed and epoched EEG data of 25 subjects on EEGLAB. Then I created a new protocol on Brainstorm, selecting "Yes, use protocol's default anatomy" and "Yes, use one channel file per subject" for the default anatomy and channel file, respectively.

2. I have imported the EEG data, separating the trials into two folders according to the experimental condition.

3. EEG channel locations were adjusted by visual inspection from: MRI registration -> Edit..

4. I have computed the head model selecting "Cortex surface" and OpenMEEG BEM as forward modelling method, using then the default options for the OpenMEEG.

5. I averaged trials for each subject among the same experimental conditions.

6. After adding an identity matrix for the noise covariance I computed the sources (creating a shared imaging kernel for each subject): minimum norm imaging as method, current density map as measure and constrained source model. Further, I did not use depth weighting and no covariance regularization.

7. Finally I moved the reconstructed sources of condition A (grand average for each subject) in the left window of process2 and all sources of condition B into the right window. Then I performed both paired parametric tests (FDR corrected) and non-parametric tests using the ft_sourcestatistics option.

Results are similar between the two analyses. The unexpected result is twofold: