Number of Channels Suggested for Inverse Modeling

Hi,

I apologize if this question is answered somewhere in the tutorials, but I scrolled through and couldn’t find anything. I’m completely new to Brainstorm and most EEG processing.

Our lab is relatively new to EEG research and uses a commercial software (NeuroGuide by applied neuroscience inc.) to obtain all of our metrics. The software seems to be more for clinical purposes than research purposes, and while it does provide LORETA functionality for connectivity metrics (coherence, phase amplitude coupling, etc.) it doesn’t allow for customized processing. It’s as simple as removing artifact, clicking “LORETA coherence” and obtaining the averaged values for the recording in a tab-delimited format.

I’d like to move more towards software like Brainstorm and MNE Python, but would need to find the answer to 2 questions before moving forward. If anyone can provide information to the following, it would be appreciated:

1. Our lab uses electrocaps with 19 sensors. Are 19 sensors generally dense enough for research if using inverse modeling? If not, is there a standard or minimum (64, 128, etc.)?

2. Has anyone had experience with commercial software such as NeuroGuide, and if so do they have any opinions on its use in research settings (constraints it may have, complaints, etc.)?
    **Our lab doesn’t specialize in EEG research, so I’d just appreciate any feedback. If mentioning an outside software isn’t appropriate for this forum then I can leave this out.

Thanks for the help

Our lab uses electrocaps with 19 sensors. Are 19 sensors generally dense enough for research if using inverse modeling? If not, is there a standard or minimum (64, 128, etc.)?

19 is very sparse… 64 or 128 would be recommended.
There are many publications about the minimum number of electrodes needed for source analysis. Some should be easy to find with google scholar.