Another Head Digitizer Port Problem

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Brainstorm community. I recently acquired a fasttrack for EEG digitizing. It is connected via the serial port and the included PiMgr does find the tracker. I changed the Brainstorm tracker settings to COM2 (the correct COM for my computer) and I do not get any error messages. Also, when I execute s = instrfind(), everything seems to look correct. However, nothing seems to happen when i come to digitize using BrainStorm. Brainstorm does not record any coordinates when i click collect point or press the button on the tracker.

I am using 64-bit Matlab R2015a and Brainstorm 20-Jul-2015.

Thanks for any advice.

Best,
Jason

Hi Jason,
It is hard to tell from your description what could be causing the problem. Can you please do the following:
Start Brainstorm
Start Digitize
in the Matlab command window, create the global variable
>>global Digitize
then print the SerialConnection info
>> Digitize.SerialConnection
you should have something like this:
Serial Port Object : Serial-COM6

Communication Settings
Port: COM6
BaudRate: 9600
Terminator: β€˜LF’

Communication State
RecordStatus: off

Read/Write State
TransferStatus: idle
BytesAvailable: 0
ValuesReceived: 0
ValuesSent: 1

then write to the serial port to collect a point
>>fprintf(Digitize.SerialConnection,’%s’,β€˜P’); (you should have one point listed in the Coordinates list)

then review the SerialConnnection info again:
and you should have something like this:

Communication Settings

Communication State

Read/Write State
ValuesReceived: 94
ValuesSent: 2

Please post these two output of Digitize.SerialConnection, like I have here. It may give me a better idea about what is going on.
Beth

Hi Beth,

Thanks for the reply. Here is the request information:

>> global Digitize

Serial Port Object : Serial-COM2

Communication Settings
Port: COM2

Communication State

Read/Write State

>> fprintf(Digitize.SerialConnection,’%s’,β€˜P’)

Communication Settings