Channel specific bad epochs

Hello there,

I'm working on 5 min EEG segments * 256 channels. I marked as bad just few channels for short time windows (using linked data). If I import data as "continuous", all bad channels (also the ones marked as bad for a short amount of time) are removed. Thus, I imported "epoched" data (time window 6 sec) BUT if the bad channels are marked as bad for almost all the epoch, it is impossible to compute the PSD. Why?

Anna

What do you mean?
Please post some screen captures illustrating your problem.

Rephrasing:

• I have one 4 minute segment
  • I cleaned the linked raw file as a continuous file using the option 'mark as bad' for individual channels
  • I imported the segment splitting it in 40 blocks of 6 second each

In other words, I cleaned the 4 minute segment as a continuous file (bc I work in the sleep field and it is easier for me to visualize 30 sec epochs), and I would like to put Nan to few specific channels in different blocks, and for each block I want to compute a separate psd. I know it might sound unconventional, but this is the only reasonable way to clean and use the segments I have.

It seemed to work but crashed for one segment where the sum of 3 different bad artifacts spanned across all the block.
More specifically, for the block 180-186 sec (the one selected in the screenshot) I couldn't generate the PSD. I succeed only when I removed the first bad segment - spanning from 180 to 182 sec. As you can see from the screenshot the other 2 remaining segments span from 182 to 186 sec, meaning that I had bad segments along ALL the 180-186 segment (but marked just for few channels).

Hope this is a little bit clearer

Anna

I imported the segment splitting it in 40 blocks of 6 second each

You could be interested in using a time-frequency decomposition with Hilbert transform of the full 4 min, averaged by time bands, instead.
https://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/TimeFrequency#Process_options