Computing VEOG and HEOG channels

Hello there,

I'm new to Brainstorm, and can't seem to find a way to calculate EOG channels - in BrainVision Analyzer, which I used before, this was easily achieved using the Linear Derivation transformation, and choosing the channels to be re-referenced to each other (e.g. (fp1 + fp2)/2 = VEOG).
Is there any way to achieve this is Brainstorm?

Thanks ahead for any help,

Nick

Hi Nick:

It’s actually possible. We call this forming ‘clusters’ of sensors. When viewing your data time series, highlight the sensors you want to group as (fp1 + fp2)/2 = VEOG, or using the ‘Clusters’ panel of the main interface, type in the name of the sensors you want to group, ie fp1 and fp2 and make sure the ‘Mean’ function is selected (that’s the default operation on clusters of sensors, but others are possible e.g., PCA, etc.). Name this cluster VEOG through the interface and save it, all using the GUI, for future use.

There is a bit of documentation about that: http://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/TutClusters?highlight=(cluster), which is for the online tutorial.

Let us know if this is helping or if you’d like to see more features added.

Dear Sylvain,

Thanks for the quick response. I tried using the “clusters” option, but this only seems to give a new display, not a new channel. What I really want to do is create two new bipolar eye channels (HEOG, VEOG), by combining existing regular ones. So, for example, the new VEOG channel would be obtained by taking channel Fp1 minus Fp2 (thus creating a new bipolar channel, wherein all common activity of the two old channels is subtracted away, leaving only the difference). Similarly, HEOG would be a linear derivation from F9 and F10.
In the end, these would be used to detect and remove eye blinks (which I can’t do now with just the sensor “cluster” - it is not even visible in the Artifacts>Detect Eye Blinks menu).

I hope this can be achieved in Brainstorm.
Let me know,
Nick

Dear Nick,