Conversion of coordinate system from SCS to world coordinate when exporting the mesh

Hi,
I am new to brainstorm. I need a transform for converting the fem mesh coordinate system.

Is there a way to convert the coordinate system to RAS or LPS?

Is there any trnasform available to do conversion of FEM mesh generated by roast.

Regards,
Saima Safdar

Converting between coordinate systems is always complicated, especially if you are trying to convert with conventions that are not directly supported in Brainstorm.

For converting between the systems of coordinates in Brainstorm, use cs_convert/cs_compute, as explained in the tutorial. If you need more information about these functions, please refer directly to the comments in the code.
https://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/CoordinateSystems

The easiest way to get the FEM meshes from ROAST into Brainstorm is to start ROAST from Brainstorm, all the outputs should be converted automatically:
https://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/FemMesh#ROAST

If you want to do this manually, you can check how this is done in the code:

I am working on this with Saima. Basically we want to save the mesh in the same coordinate system as the MRI that is used to generate the mesh. In 3D Slicer this is the RAS coordinate system which I think corresponds to the world coordinate system in Brainstorm. Is this the correct way to save the mesh in the world coordinate system:

% NOTE: First do these steps:
% 1. Export to Matlab the MRI_T1 as 'mri'.
% 2. Export to Matlab the mesh as 'mesh'.

% Output file to save mesh
OutputFile = 'mesh.msh'

% Convert CSC to World coordinate system
% See: https://github.com/brainstorm-tools/brainstorm3/blob/master/toolbox/process/functions/process_fem_mesh.m#L899
[mesh.Vertices, Transf] = cs_convert(mri, 'scs', 'world', mesh.Vertices(:,1:3));

% Save mesh as Gmsh format
out_fem_msh(mesh, OutputFile)
1 Like

Yes, this code converts the FEM mesh vertices to "Brainstorm world coordinates".