Different Epoch length and data covariance

Hello, I am new to Brainstorm and would like to clarify some issues!

Firstly, the experiment that was run by my lab consists of different segments of interest, mainly the following: S4 for presentation of a dot (visual stimuli), S8 when the dot disappears, S16 when the correct dot position is presented, and S32 when an incorrect one is presented, and finally S64 when the participant responds. Each of the inter-stimulus length differs between each stimuli (eg, 500ms between S4 and S8, 2mins between S8 and S16 etc). Is it alright to import epochs of different lengths in that case around each segment of interest?

In addition, when it comes to computing the data covariance, due to the different epoch lengths, do i compute the data covariance for each trial separately and then merge them?

Thank you!

Hello,

Processing epochs of different durations is quite complicated: you cannot average them or display them simultaneously.
But in most cases, you don’t need to have epochs of different durations. What is your question?
For instance, if you are interested in what the brain does after the second dot disappears (S16/S32), then you just need to epoch around this time, and use the same epoch length for all the conditions.

If you are interested both in the presentation of the dots and the subject response, you can import epochs for both with different epoch durations if you want. It doesn’t matter because these are epochs you won’t compare or average directly (it doesn’t make much sense to compare a visual presentation with a motor response).

What you need to do before epoching is classifying your markers before epoching so that you can import and average separately the trials where the dot position is correct vs. incorrect, or when the response of the subject is correct/incorrect. You can find many processes to help you sorting your events in the category “Events”, especially “Combine stim/response”.