Epochs Within Extended Events

Hello,

I am a new graduate student and have just begun to use Brainstorm and perform SSEP analysis.

My data files consist of continuous EEG data. Within each continuous recording, there are multiple trials. Each trial consists of repetitive stimuli of the same intensity setting.

I would like to break down each continuous EEG data file into the individual trials, and then from there epoch my trials, so that each epoch contains the stimulus and response.

I think the best way to do this will be to create extended events that span the duration of each trial. Once I've done so, is there a way to load just one extended event and then create epochs within that event? I have been trying to select and load an extended event (one of my trials), by selecting Events-File-Import in Database, but receive an error message:

Is there a better way to do this? Any suggestions are appreciated!

I would like to break down each continuous EEG data file into the individual trials, and then from there epoch my trials, so that each epoch contains the stimulus and response.

If you want to epoch your data based on a stimulus trigger, why do you want first to split the file in multiple blocks?
If you need to reorganize the events from the continuous file before importing, you have a few processes that can help you do this, like Combine stim/response:
https://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/EventMarkers#Other_menus

I think the best way to do this will be to create extended events that span the duration of each trial. Once I've done so, is there a way to load just one extended event and then create epochs within that event? I have been trying to select and load an extended event (one of my trials), by selecting Events-File-Import in Database, but receive an error message:

I'm not sure I understand where this error can come from...
How did you create these extended events?

Hi Francois,

Thanks for responding so quickly.