Exporting single-trial ERPs pre-processed in ERPlab

Hi all,

I am new to Brainstorm and wondering whether it is possible to export single-trial ERP data from .set files that have been pre-processed and epoched in ERPlab. I know it’s possible to import these .set files to Brainstorm, but I’d like to extract the single-trial information, maintaining all of the bin information I set up in the ERPlab environment. (Ultimately I would like to extract single-trial peak amplitudes, e.g., for the P1 component, not the entire time-window.) In a recent Brainstorm webinar I was told that the Brainstorm database can’t maintain all of the categories from the ERPlab binlister, but that it might be possible to reconstruct the bin information as folders in Brainstorm, and then export single-trial ERPs with all of the relevant trial/condition information. Does anyone have experience with this? Any help would be much appreciated!

Nicole

Hi Nicole,

If you import any .set file into Brainstorm, you would get a window asking you what combination of parameters you want to use to classify them into the Brainstorm database.
For instance, if you have two parameters (Gender and Condition), each of them with different possible values (respectively m/f and A/B/C), you would not be able to keep the two-level classification in Brainstorm. You would have to “flatten” it, deciding if you are interested by one or the other or both conditions.
You could decide to create 2 folders (Gender_m/Gender_f), 3 folders (Condition_A, Condition_B, Condition_C) or 6 folders (Am, Af, Bm, Bf, Cm, Cf).

Then you would be able to manipulate all your trials freely with the database explorer (works more or less like a regular file explorer). This is illustrated in this tutorial:
http://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/TutRawAvg