Some Basic Guidance

Hello All :grin:
First of all, thank you devs for making this software available for free, it is quite amazing.
I am a non-med / non-research individual interested in reviewing how my brain state responds to meditation and hypnosis. I am still learning how to work on the data acquired and fed to my PC from my Muse 2 headband. I would like some basic guidance which I have not been able to get a clear handle of:

1. Is it correct to have overlapping frequencies when separating brainwaves into alpha, beta etc? I am using the pipeline editor to pre-process using a band filter but while constructing the pipeline, i noticed that I am overlapping some frequencies. Is that the correct approach? E.g.

• Delta = 0.5 to 4 Hz
    • Theta = 4 to 8 Hz
    • Alpha = 8 to 13 Hz
    • Beta = 13 to 30 Hz
    • Gamma = 30 to 44 Hz

The upper bound of each range is also the lower bound of the next range. How are you meant to handle this? Am I supposed to construct it as follows or are the above ranges accurate enough for non-professional purposes?

• Delta = 0.50 to 3.99 Hz
    • Theta = 4.00 Hz to 7.99 Hz , etc....
  2. I have understood that the common way to characterize a brain state at any point of time is to calculate the relative power of a range to the the sum of all ranges in that particular time window. If my 4 to 8 Hz waves are most prominent at x time from the range of 0 to 44 Hz then I could consider myself to be in theta at that point in time. Where I am getting confused is how to make this comparison across channels. The Muse provides 4 channels ( TP9, AF7, AF8, TP10). Which of the following would be considered correct, or is there another way that is recommended?

• Select one channel for the session and perform the relative power calc and use that?
    • Aggregate the power of each range per channel and divide by the aggregate total of all channels? i guess something like --> Sum(Rel PowTP9, Rel PowAF7....) / Sum(PowTP9, PowAF7....)