Source estimation options

Hi everyone,

I am new to brainstorm. I have several questions regarding source estimation options.

I have run dSPM, sLORETA and beamformers on my own MEG data to compare all three approaches. The aim is to perform a group study and statistics for the main effects.
There are some options described in the tutorials after the solution to the inverse problem and I would like to know whether these apply to all methods or just dSPM and sLORETA.

First of all, regarding lcmv estimation, if one performs it on only one file then the recommended noise covariance regularization option is the diagonal noise covariance. However, the tutorial recommends the median eigenvalue which is only the selected option if one works with batch processing.

Also, as far as I understand Z-scoring (Standardize > Baseline normalization", [-100,-1.7]ms, Z-score transformation) is not required for dSPM and sLORETA. If so, is this also true (i.e. does not apply) for LCMV? I read that the PNAI which I applied scores analogously to z-scoring.

Also, I skipped filtering the source files since I am not entirely sure of whether this should be applied.

Finally, I flattened the cortical maps (process: Sources > Unconstrained to flat map).

I would consider smoothing the cortical maps if needed.

Are these steps ok?

I tried performing statistics in brainstorm right after flattening the cortical maps, but I always get error messages e.g. The dimensions of file #2 do not match file #1, No data read from FilesA. Can this be fixed somehow? Does this depend on the previous steps or something that I did not do?

Finally, I exported them to spm for statistical analysis, where I resliced them. If i do not smooth the cortical maps in brainstorm is it ok to smooth them in spm after the reslicing?

Thank you in advance
Haris.