FFT analysis

Hello,

I am new to using Brianstorm (and signal processing) and would like to seek advice regarding the calculation of a simple FFT on 5 minute resting state recording, in the sensor space. The steps I have taken thus far are the following:

• I have loaded and reviewed the continuous data file into Brainstorm, and after applying the visualization filter, I have performed the SSP to correct for EKG and eye artifact.
• Next, I have imported this file into Brainstorm as epochs of 5 seconds in length (including DC offset for the entire continuous file).
• Following this, under the processes tab, I have entered the 60 x 5 second files nd have applied the sinusoidal removal (notch).
• Finally, I have reviewed the epoched files individually to remove any “bad” epochs prior to the FFT.
Am I correct in thinking that the next step is to simply enter the epoched files in the Process1 space and under the Frequency option, select the FFT analysis?

Any help/advice is very much appreciated.

Thank you!

Eszter

Hi Eszter,

Overall the procedure is good, but you can improve it bit. Here are a few comments:

I have loaded and reviewed the continuous data file into Brainstorm, and after applying the visualization filter, I have performed the SSP to correct for EKG and eye artifact.

The visualization filters are for visualization only, they have no impact on any processing step, including the SSP correction.

Next, I have imported this file into Brainstorm as epochs of 5 seconds in length (including DC offset for the entire continuous file).

Depending on your sampling rate, you can probably work with segments that are longer than 5s, it could make it easier to manage to have less files in the database.

Following this, under the processes tab, I have entered the 60 x 5 second files nd have applied the sinusoidal removal (notch).