From atlas to volumetric scouts

Hello to everyone!

I am a student trying to compare various toolboxes and methods to solve the inverse problem. To do that my intention is to simulate a EEG from a signal in certain ROIs in the brain and then perform the inverse and evaluate.

In order to do that, I am trying to simulate the signal using the info in

https://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/Simulations#Volume:_Unconstrained_orientation

Going a little bit to the detail i need the ROIs to correspond with the volumes of an Atlas, Desikan Killiani for example, and here is where I cannot figure it out. What i've been trying so far is from a MNI-based parcellations create an atlas in the scout tab, as mentioned in https://neuroimage.usc.edu/brainstorm/Tutorials/TutVolSource#Volume_atlases but the scouts end up being surfaces.

I'm using the tutorial database for the anatomy and tried the process above both with the cortex of the default anatomy and on the bem model computed for a specific simulation.

I would really appreciate some help, I am new to brainstorm and despite doing the basic tutorials i lack fluidity to solve it. Thanks in advance.

To obtain a volume atlas, you must have volume source maps opened, otherwise the menus Atlas > From subject anatomy would create a surface atlas.

This is because the volume source grids are saved in the headmodel and source results, not in the cortex surface.

Hi! Thanks for the quick response.

Yeah, tried that already and the exact same result. Attached you can find the capture with the volume source grid opend and the result from performing the Atlas > From subject anatomy. May be that I'm confused and that is actually not the volume source map.

You need to have actual volume source results opened, not the source grid.
And I can't see any in your database, so you should start by simulating some.

Okay, that solved it. Thank you very much!

Hello again!