Scripting to create multiple subjects

Hi

I'm trying the scripting function for the first time to automate most of my pre-processing. I've no prior experience with coding in Matlab/Brainstorm. I have 60 subjects, one EEG acquisition one per subject. I tried entering the below script which I found in another thread on this forum to create multiple subjects. Under a new protocol, I selected file > command window and copied pasted the below script in MATLAB command window (I put in a number for 'n' in first line, also tried for 'no' in first and second line). I got the below answer in the cmd.exe window. Could you advise what the right steps are to run this script?

function create_nSubjects(start, noSubject)
range = start:noSubject;
for i = range
if i < 10
subjectname = [‘Subject’, num2str(0), num2str(i)];
else
subjectname = [‘Subject’, num2str(i)];
end
[sSubject, iSubject] = db_add_subject(subjectname);
end

BST> Error executing command:
Error using panel_command>CreatePanel/ButtonRun_Callback (line 66)
Error: Function definitions are not permitted in this context.

Hi David,

The compiled version of Brainstorm has limited capabilities in terms of scripting, it seems functions are not allowed at all. If you want to be able to run more advanced scripts, I recommend you install the full version of Matlab going forward.

I adapted your script to make it work in this context. You can try the following script, which creates subjects 1 to 15. You are free to change the value of the first two variables to your needs.

firstSubject = 1;
lastSubject = 15;

for i = firstSubject:lastSubject
    if i < 10
        subjectname = ['Subject0' num2str(i)];
    else
        subjectname = ['Subject', num2str(i)];
    end
    [sSubject, iSubject] = db_add_subject(subjectname);
end
db_reload_database('current');

Does that work for you?

Cheers,
Martin

1 Like

Hi Martin

Thank you. That worked perfectly. I ran it in MatLab no problem.