sEEG simulation and forward model

Hi BrainStorm community,

My name is Rachel. I am new to BrainStorm. I am working on sEEG recordings.
(1) I downloaded a pubic sEEG recordings online. This patient's MRI and CT are provided in .nii format and co-registered to the Talairach coordinate space. The eye area is covered with black strip. So after I import the MRI in brainstorm, I cannot set the NAS/LPA/RPA. I have the channel_file. I want to generate a forward model with the data I have. The tutorials I read all require NAS/LPA/RPA points to proceed. Am I able to generate a forward model with what I have?

(2) I am also trying to build a simple simulation of sEEG setup. I use the template "MRI: ICBM152" anatomy. And I choose some sEEG electrode positions by hand(I make sure the positions are inside the cerebrum.) And I run 'compute head model'. And I got the error below.

Is this a wrong setup? I saw someone had the same error before. And there is no solution in that thread yet.

Thank you in advance. Thank you for this wonderful tool.

Best wishes,
Rachel

Hi Rachel,

1. The coordinates you want to import are in Talairach coordinates, so you wouldn’t be able to import them on the patient’s MRI even if you had the NAS, LPA and RPA points.
    I added last week the possibility to import the position of SEEG contacts in MNI space. You should start by updating Brainstorm to make sure you have this last version on your computer (menu Help > Update Brainstorm).
    Can you have access to these coordinates in MNI space, or can you convert them from Talairach to MNI? (the two reference systems are similar but have a different origin and a slight scaling problem - Talairach coordinates system is an outdated system, even though still widely used in hospitals)

If the CT you have is a post-op CT that shows the contacts, you could also use it to mark them with Brainstorm, this would be much more accurate than using multiple conversions with template spaces: