SSP vs ICA methods for ocular artefact cleaning

, ,

Hello Brainstorm community,

I am an EEG researcher using Biosemi 64 channel EEG + Left VEOG and currently deciding which blink artifact removal method (SSP vs ICA) to use. To help me decide I went through tutorials 13 and Artifact cleaning with ICA.

Now, it seems from the tutorials that SSP would work better for MEG and ICA would work better for EEG ocular artifact removal. Upon trying out both methods it seems that the SSP method works better than the ICA method for my data. On that note I have some questions/statements based on the following two comments that I read from the tutorials.

This introduction tutorial will focus on the SSP approach, as it is a lot simpler and faster but still very efficient for removing blinks and heartbeats from MEG recordings.

Based on MY dataset, I think the SSP approach is much simpler and faster but still VERY effective for removing blinks from EEG recordings. I note on several occasions how the SSP approach cleaned all blinks from my data without needing to select additional components to remove. I.e. the first component of each blink "type" was completely sufficient for excellent blink removal.

The SSP technique is not adapted for cleaning events for which we cannot set markers, and in general it is not suitable for low-density EEG.

1. In this statement what does "for which we cannot set markers" mean?
  2. In this phrase "in general it is not suitable for low-density EEG," what level of density are we talking about? 32, 64 or 128 channels?

Finally, what is your recommendation for citing individual tutorials?

Many Thanks.
MinChul Park

ICA works both for MEG and EEG. But for MEG it can be extremely time consuming with 300 sensors, and then artifacts are then spread over tens of components and it gets difficult to identify them.